EC3 London

EC3 Postcode ‐ When and Why

EC3 postcode

Acting on a proposal from postal reformer Sir Rowland Hill, London was divided into ten postcodes during the late 1850s.

In 1917, during World War I the ten districts were further sub divided to assist the women sorters who had replaced the men and EC3 was used for the first time.

The EC3 district is further divided into six distinct districts for postal purposes with the addition of a letter after EC3 ‐ A M N P R V.

Even greater division was required by the 1960’s and with increased mechanisation, further numbers and letters were added to our codes.

For more information see Postcodes.

EC3 Wards

The City of London is divided into twenty-five wards. They are a survival of the medieval governmental system that allowed very small areas to exist as self-governing units within the wider city. 

They are both electoral/political sub-divisions and permanent ceremonial, geographic and administrative entities within the City.

The Wards within EC3 consist of Lime Street, Tower, Aldgate, Billingsgate, Langbourn, Bridge and Portsoken.