Fortnum & Mason has opened its doors in one of London’s most iconic buildings, The Royal Exchange.
Situated in The Courtyard, it includes a bar and restaurant as well as produce from their famous Food Halls.
Fortnum & Mason began in 1705 from a small store in St James Market by Hugh Mason and William Fortnum who was an entrepreneur; he also took a post as Footman in Queen Anne’s household.
The royal family’s insistence on having new candles every night resulted in large amounts of half‐used wax, which Fortnum promptly resold for a tidy profit!
In 1964 they added to their headquarters building at 181 Piccadilly, the now famous Fortnum’s clock.
It has eighteen bells, from the same foundry as Big Ben, which every fifteen minutes plays a selection of music.
On the hour, Messrs Fortnum and Mason appear through the doors.